Scheduled Gaming

I’ve got a pretty regular work schedule. I work 9-6 Monday through Friday at my regular job, with weekends off. Typically, I like to game for at least an hour every day, and I reserve my heavy gaming sessions for weekends or days when I don’t work. Having this type of schedule has also changed the types of games I play, And I find that odd.

During my work week, I find that it’s easier to relax by playing a game that’s practically mindless. During hockey season I was very into NHL 15, and although the game is slightly difficult and anything but relaxing at times, it was easy to turn on and play without having to focus on story or mission eleme4nts. Just a straight up game of hockey; it’s the same while being different at the same time. Also during my work week I’ve taken to playing games like Dead or Alive 5: Last Round. A competition fighting game may not also be relaxing to some, but the idea is that it’s the same thing over and over, while managing to stay fresh. Since I’m not especially skilled at DOA5, the game becomes more fun than work, as some games tend to get.

Another lazy game is GTA V. Anyone who has ever played the Rockstar smash hit knows that you don’t have to do anything involving the story of the game to have fun with it.  From driving around town to killing civilians for sport, stealing a plane and purposely crashing into a mountain or flying a helicopter high enough to land on top of the ever-present blimp cruising around the city, there seems to always be something to do in Los Santos. And the great thing is you don’t have to think about it. I can’t tell you how many hours I’ve spent just driving. Whether it’s finding that one stunt jump you can’t beat or doing as many laps as the cops will let you on the games freeway system.  Fun doesn’t have to be distracting.

The weekends, however, are reserved for the triple A titles. If I had an entire weekend devoted to gaming as I sometimes do, I would devote it’s entirety to one of two games at the moment, Either Borderlands: The Handsome Collection (Featuring the games Bordrlands: The Pre-Sequel, Borderlands 2, and all corresponding DLC) or Dragon Age: Inquisition. The latter I’ve been playing a lot, and have logged just over 200 hours into, although I’m terribly low level. That’s because when I do play the game during the week, I’m not paying attention to anything. I wander a lot, picking up materials for crafting and modifying armor and such . Not much fighting gets done, though I did kill my first dragon not long ago. But when I do play, I play hard. Advancing story missions, completing side quests, Definitely crafting armor and weapons, and updating character abilities. I have to pay close attention to conversations with NPC’s or risk missing out on vital information. During the week, I’m not willing to out that kind of effort into a game. Work all day on top of homework wears out the mind, and all I want to do is relax, but Saturdays are the time when I kick ass in games.

I find it weird that my life has come to a point where I have to pick and choose what games I play based solely on my lack of willpower to focus. I’m fine with it, but I miss the days when I would go hard on all the hardcore games for hours.

Leave a comment